Real story of the F.I.P.D.

Sussex County Online User Forums: Fenwick Island Discussion Forum: Real story of the F.I.P.D.
By cop friend of FI cops on Saturday, January 25, 2003 - 12:41 pm:

OK, here's the story. I'm a nearby cop and personal friend of a few F.I. cops who work now and have worked there in the past. There was apparently a problem with the Dickerson/Manning administration for so many officers to leave under their command. The rate of men quitting is just too disproportionate to all other similarly sized agencies. Rumor was that it was the extremely harsh rules and discipline handed out. That, in addition to the salaries that aren't up to par with other departments, drove the cops away. stay tuned for more of the truth!

By Tony Soprano on Saturday, January 25, 2003 - 03:43 pm:

Wouldn't the extremely harsh rules and discipline under Dickerson/Manning,have come down from the powers above them, say from the police commissioner,or those from whom he takes his orders. Doody does run downhill.

By cop friend of FI cops on Saturday, January 25, 2003 - 05:31 pm:

part two- reasons the cops are leaving this year: 1. too much turmoil (most of which this year is caused by council, EXCEPT Ms. Carmean). 2. Hudson brought in as defacto chief (you should see his track record from the State Police to the town of Bethany Beach, he must know someone.....hmmm...on council?) 3. other towns offer better salaries, and futures to a young cop. So, would you want to work there for $26,000 a year not knowing if or when you will ever get a decent raise?

By shepship on Monday, January 27, 2003 - 02:59 pm:

Hi I am looking for a place to start my law enforcement career and was looking into Fenwick Island, I hear of all these stories. Is it a bad idea to go for an interview if I get called? Please Help! Thanks

By Kurt C. Hoffman on Wednesday, January 29, 2003 - 01:22 pm: