Sussex County Delaware

Minner Nominates
Third from Sussex

U.S. Presidential Election ...

Lincoln's Walling Tabbed
for Senior Advisor Post

Photos: Stanley W. Taylor (top) and Harriet Smith Windsor (bottom).

Governor-Elect Ruth Ann Minner has nominated a third Sussex Countian to her cabinet.

Minner, who will be sworn in as Governor on Wednesday, Jan. 3, 2001, has nominated Lee Ann Walling of Lincoln to the new post of senior advisor.

The 44-year-old deputy state treasurer would be in charge of cabinet and policy operations if confirmed by the Delaware Senate.

Walling has served as deputy state treasurer since 1999. She also served as executive assistant to the secretary of finance from 1996 to 1999 and as executive assistant to Lieutenant Governor Minner from 1993 to 1996.

Walling, a reporter and editor at the Delaware State News from 1981-1991, says the state's economy and budget will be the biggest challenges facing the Minner adminstration.

Minner also made two other cabinet nominations on Thursday. She nominated 34-year-old Matthew P. Denn of New Castle as legal counsel and 28-year-old Gregory Patterson of Dover as communications director.

Minner has designed the three positions to replace the position of chief of staff.

Stanley W. Taylor, Commissioner of CorrectionsEarlier, Minner nominated Lewes resident Harriet Smith Windsor to the position of Secretary of State and Stanley W. Taylor of Dagsboro to retain his position as Commissioner of Corrections.

Taylor assumed his commissioner's post in 1995. He has been with the Department of Corrections since 1976.

Smith Windsor was the state's human resources director under Governor Thomas R. Carper.

Harriet Smith WindsorOthers nominated to retain their positions include Nicholas A. Di Pasquale, Secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, and Valerie A. Woodruff, Secretary of Education.

Other cabinet nominees are Gloria Wernicki Homer to be Secretary of Administrative Services, Nathan Hayward III to be Secretary of Transportation, Harold E. Stafford to be Secretary of Labor, Vincent P. Meconi to be Secretary of Health and Social Services, and Saundra Ross Johnson to be Director of the Delaware State Housing Authority.

All cabinet nominations must be confirmed by the Delaware Senate.

Local News Index | News Index

Poll ...

Click the buttons to vote on or see the results of our Question of the Week


  • Activities
  • Bethany Cam
  • Dining
  • Events
  • Fishing
  • Lodging
  • Maps
  • Real Estate
  • Shopping
  • Surfing
  • * Beach-Net! is a service of Coastal Images Inc., Fenwick Island, Delaware.

    Sussex County Delaware
  • Home Page
  • Sussex Search
  • Sussex Shop
  • Sussex News
  • Towns
  • Government
  • Businesses
  • Schools
  • Organizations
  • Forums
  • Events
  • E-Mail

  • Sussex County News

  • News
  • Business
  • Sports
  • Entertainment
  • Health
  • U.S. Weeklies

  • Sussex County Delaware


    Sussex County Online Copyright © 1999-2000 Sussex County Online
    Site Design and Maintenance by Cyber Weekly Consulting